18 comments on “Depths of Boatmurdered

  1. I have a bug to report:
    The game won’t start due to data format exception.
    (extracted from event log)

    System.FormatException
    Stack trace:
    -> System.Number.ParseSingle(System.String, System.Globalization.NumberStyles, System.Globalization.NumberFormatInfo)
    -> System.Single.Parse(System.String)
    -> Tactics.DataManager.assignValueFromString[[System.__Canon, mscorlib, Version=4.0.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=b77a5c561934e089]](System.__Canon, System.String, System.String, Boolean)
    -> Tactics.DataManager.createObjectFromDict[[System.__Canon, mscorlib, Version=4.0.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=b77a5c561934e089]](System.__Canon, System.Collections.Generic.Dictionary`2)
    -> Tactics.Action..ctor(System.Collections.Generic.Dictionary`2)
    -> Tactics.DataManager.createDataFromDict(System.String, System.Collections.Generic.Dictionary`2)
    -> Tactics.DataManager.loadTextFile(System.String)
    -> Tactics.DataManager.loadTextFilesInFolder(System.String)
    -> Tactics.Game1.LoadContent()
    -> Microsoft.Xna.Framework.Game.Initialize() w Tactics.Game1.Initialize()
    -> Microsoft.Xna.Framework.Game.RunGame(Boolean)
    -> Microsoft.Xna.Framework.Game.Run()
    -> Tactics.Program.Main(System.String[])

    Floating point format in my cultureinfo uses comma instead of dot (EU)

  2. Thanks for the bug report! I can’t say I’m certain what’s going on here… I assume .NET or XNA’s default behavior for converting a string to a float is different for EU? That really is odd… but I think I have an idea how to fix it.

    Thanks again for the report, and for the tip — I’ll try to get an update out soon. I’d hate to think every EU user hasn’t been able to get it to work.

    • > …(float parsing now always uses periods)
      You can also leverage .net’s dark powers to easily handle data format for any culture:

      http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/system.globalization.cultureinfo.invariantculture.aspx

      http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/system.threading.thread.currentuiculture.aspx

      Here’s some feedback now that I’ve played the game for a while:
      1. I’d hide player gui during intro scene, because it gives off feeling that you can skip it by pressing something and move along.
      2. As much as I like the deep darkness, I’d see some changes to the lantern mechanics, like a bit more smoothed light cone edges and some more apparent alpha blending to darkness for the part of the light behind the player, because it looks too edgy and just cuts off.
      3. Some monster AI acts strange, I just stood right next to the troglodyte-thing (sorry I’m no good with pixels :P) and it wasn’t moving at all until I left and dived into the darkness.

      Disclaimer: I am no gamedev pro :)

      • Yeah, I ended up setting the currentCulture to en-US, so I didn’t have to make changes to all my toString()s and such.

        1. that’s a good idea — I’ll look into that.
        2. as much as I hate to excuse mediocre graphics by claiming it’s a style, I was hoping to evoke the imagery from Link to the Past’s sharp-edged lantern:
        null
        Definitely something I should consider though.
        3. Hmm, was that before he noticed you? Some enemies won’t respond unless you enter their 90 degree cone of vision.

        Thanks for the feedback! It’s very useful.

        Disclaimer: I am also not what you would call a gamedev pro : P

    • // It seems your last reply maxed out wordpress comment depth //
      @2. Pay me no mind, I derp a lot with getting references, if it was design choice you don’t have to excuse it.
      @3. AI should have some player detection beyond LOS. I mean, poking monster with stick can be fun and all, but flashing it with a light point-blank with no reaction whatsoever is pushing it :P

      Above all, it’s nice game.

      PS. To seek more DF FUN:

      http://plus.google.com/u/0/communities/102372568857661710142

      • 3. Y’got a point there. I’m planning more responsive AI in future games with this engine.

        Thanks!

        If I can get up the effort to make a Google+ account I may post the game there. : P

  3. >It also largely ignores established Dwarf Fortress lore (I haven’t played any Dwarf Fortress).
    It doesn’t have lore.

  4. Great game, I especially liked the worm boss fights, music and was generally surprised by how many variety there was in such “small” game. Just out of curiosity, how much time did it take you to make it and in which language did you programmed it ?

    • Thank you! The engine is made using C# and XNA. The engine itself was made in 5 months full-time (plus some part-time work before that) but it also includes many features that didn’t show up in Depths of Boatmurdered. (Since I’m planning on using the engine for a Tactics RPG later, there is an entire turn-based combat system that didn’t see use.)

      After that, the content, AI, level design, art, etc. for Depths of Boatmurdered took about 1 month.

  5. I only started playing tonight after hearing that the game is finally available for download, so i cannot give you an objective review yet.

    I played for a bit and was really suprised. The atmosphere is amazing!
    As a long time DF player, and having read the story, im happy i can see the legendary fort from this perspective.

    Thanks for making the game!

    • Thank you! I’m glad DF players can appreciate it. I was worried my lack of DF knowledge would mean I’d miss something important to Boatmurdered, but so far it doesn’t seem to have bothered anyone.

      Hope you enjoy the rest of it! :D

Leave a Comment!

